Academic Steals

Page 1 of 1 (20 items)
This post has 19 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 932
Justin Gatlin | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Feb 20 2015 1:36 PM

My academic pricing is going to expire at the end of the month, and a combination of ministry responsibilities, a marriage coming up in May and a secular job will keep me out of seminary for a little while. I was wondering if there are any resources anyone considers "must haves" that are available on academic pricing. I have L5 Diamond and L6 Gold (Standard and Baptist) and NICOT/NICNT as the big academic purchases I have already made. I see little value in any of the other base packages below Collectors (since I have a prepub in for the Master Journal Bundle and the only really impressive resources added through Portfolio are journals and PD books), which is not even in my daydream budget.

So, aside from the value of base packages - what resources are eligible for a great price with the academic discount?

PS: Does it drive anyone else crazy that the title in the HTML of logos.com/basepackages is "Basepackages"? This is not Apple; we can put spaces and capitalization. 

Posts 1048
Lew Worthington | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Feb 20 2015 1:46 PM

Hey Justin,

If you share what your interests and focuses are, I've got lots of untapped opinions I'm ready to unleash! Big Smile

Posts 932
Justin Gatlin | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Feb 20 2015 2:00 PM

Lew Worthington:

Hey Justin,

If you share what your interests and focuses are, I've got lots of untapped opinions I'm ready to unleash! Big Smile

I am a conservative Baptist pastor but I enjoy reading thing I disagree with (The JPS Torah commentary being an unexpected base package gem) to develop my thinking. Besides that, my interests are broad and I would like them to be broader. Original languages are okay (my Greek is better than my Hebrew, but I can follow technical). Fire away with your most opinionated opinions!

Posts 2002