Using "title:Josephus" in SEARCH - not working? But works in Library...

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 40
David Geipel | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Mar 20 2015 4:21 PM

So if I use this string in SEARCH, I get three titles (without the word Josephus in the name)... but when I use it in my Library, I get 6+ resources I own. The logic here seems odd.

I am a newbie but also taking some MP classes and have no idea why this is (or isn't in my case) happening. Insight please!

Dave

BTW - Platinum, latest version (6.1 SR3 updated today) and rebooted since update. Goal is to search the following:

Title of Book containing Josephus

AND then to search a term within those titles using keywords

In this case containing a mention of Eleazar

What I THOUGHT would work is the following: title: Josephus AND term: Eleazar

**Also tried without space between these search terms and keywords... no dice.

Posts 22011
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 20 2015 4:28 PM

Hi David

David Geipel:

Title of Book containing Josephus

AND then to search a term within those titles using keywords

In this case containing a mention of Eleazar

in the search panel click on "all resources" and in the dropdown menu type "title:Josephus". This will give you the option to select your seven resources

then put "Eleazar" into the search box.

That should give you what you want.

Graham

Posts 40
David Geipel | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 20 2015 5:18 PM

Thanks Graham. That did the trick!

Don't know why the search engine doesn't pick that up in the general search box since I asked it to find that across all resources... and told it where to look. I thought you could also sort or search by Publisher too (like pub:tyndale)... 

Feature request I suppose.

Posts 25049
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 21 2015 5:08 AM

David Geipel: