How would I use L4/Scholar's to find out the following...?

Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
This post has 9 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 603
Carmen Gauvin-O'Donnell | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Feb 15 2010 6:22 AM

I'm still new to greek/hebrew language stuff...

I want to demonstrate to someone that my translation of Luke 4:4 (NASB), while different than theirs, is actually more accurate than their translation (KJV) even though mine appears to have some text "missing".

Obviously, it has something to do with the manuscripts which were used for the translations. But can I use L4 to show that?

Thanks!

Posts 1539
Terry Poperszky | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 15 2010 6:27 AM

Carmen Gauvin-O'Donnell:
I want to demonstrate to someone that my translation of Luke 4:4 (NASB), while different than theirs, is actually more accurate than their translation (KJV)

Carmen, how do you know that the NASB IS more accurate than the KJV in this instance?

Until you know why you believe something, it is hard to convince someone else.

Posts 3810
spitzerpl | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 15 2010 7:01 AM

To find which one is more accurate the best place to look is in an apparatus. Understanding what you are seeing in an Apparatus is a different story, though. Another source to look in is Metzger's A Textual Commentary on the Greek New Testament  (I'm not sure you have it with scholars) which will Tell you why the NASB goes with the  shorter translation. I would also run a passage guide on the verse and read through the commentaries you have that may deal with the differences in translation.

Posts 5637
Todd Phillips | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 15 2010 7:52 AM

Carmen Gauvin-O'Donnell:

I want to demonstrate to someone that my translation of Luke 4:4 (NASB), while different than theirs, is actually more accurate than their translation (KJV) even though mine appears to have some text "missing".