Highlighting struggles: Collecting all highlights of a single style

Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
This post has 9 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 22
Scott | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Feb 25 2016 12:52 AM

I'm pretty new to Verbum and I find it to be an incredible resource, but I also often find it complicated and frustrating. Or maybe that's just me. :)

I struggling with highlighting a lot. I have a custom set of highlighters that I use for highlighting across all resources, with the highlighter name indicating the kind of highlight it is: Scripture, Apologetics, Notations, Quote, and Personal. (I think I duplicated the standard set of highlighters and renamed them. I don’t really remember though.)

Is there a way in Verbum Mac 6 to see, in a single place, all of my highlights of a single style ("Quotes" for example) across all resources?

For most of my highlighting, I don't care so much what resource I created the highlight in, just what style it is ("Quotes," "Apologetics," etc.). For example, I use the green highlighter style (that I renamed "Quotes") to highlight passages that are particularly interesting, provocative, pithy, etc. I do this to create my own "Bartlett's Familiar Quotations" resource for use on social media, in blogging, etc. I have passages in many different resources highlighted with this "Quotes" style: Catechism, Chesterton’s Orthodoxy, Faith Facts, lives of the saints, etc. I want to see all these "Quotes" highlights in a single list.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Posts 26029
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Feb 25 2016 12:59 AM

try as a search against your library

{Highlight Style Quote}

where Quote is the style name.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 22
Scott | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Feb 25 2016 1:14 AM