Editing workflows

Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
This post has 12 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 310
Michael Hite | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Jan 26 2019 5:16 PM

I have spend untold amounts of time trying to figure out how to edit a workflow. I see so much potential to this tool but for the life of me I cannot figure it out. My problem is that I cannot seem to edit a workflow after I have made progress creating it and then I click  DONE to save it. If I go back latter and select that workflow and choose Edit with the right-click menu It presents the workflow to me to edit. But every time I make changes and then elect DONE agin, when I run the workflow or open it again to continue editing none of my changes are present. I just spent a couple of hours adding to a workflow I started to create earlier only to find none of my work saved.

I have made sure that no iterations of the workflow are currently listed under Started Workflows.

Do I have to create the entire workflow in one session?

Do I have to save the modified workflow under a new name?

Is this simply a bug? It seems that it should not work this way.

2015 13" MacBook Pro - 2 Ghz Intel i7 - 16 GB RAM - 500GB SSD - 2018 iMac Pro - 3.2GHz 8-core Xeon - both systems running OS 10.14.3 (Mojave)

 

Posts 26262
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jan 26 2019 6:41 PM

Is this what you are looking for?

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 310
Michael Hite | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jan 26 2019 8:18 PM

That does work either. It lets me make changes but when I click DONE none of the changes are retained. I have been right-clicking on the custom workflow and selecting Edit. It brings up the workflow in edit mode but nothing gets updated when I finish and click DONE.

2015 13" MacBook Pro - 2 Ghz Intel i7 - 16 GB RAM - 500GB SSD - 2018 iMac Pro - 3.2GHz 8-core Xeon - both systems running OS 10.14.3 (Mojave)

 

Posts 26262
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jan 26 2019 8:38 PM

That is really strange ... but I haven't made new workflows recently. If it isn't updating, that is a bug and should be reported as such.  I will play with it a bit later tonight and see what's up.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 26262
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jan 26 2019 8:51 PM

Michael Hite:
I have been right-clicking on the custom workflow and selecting Edit. It brings up the workflow in edit mode but nothing gets updated when I finish and click DONE.

This works fine for me. I wonder if there's an old copy still open. Try this:

  • Open the custom workflow in edit mode as you have been doing
  • Add a new section as a test
  • Click done
  • Close all guides that are open ... I had one
  • now open the custom workflow and see if it has the new section 

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 13343
Forum MVP
Mark Barnes | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jan 26 2019 10:23 PM

Just for clarity: when you edit a workflow, nothing will change in existing instances of the workflow. Only new instances of the workflow should change.

Posts 3
Robert J Farthing | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jan 27 2019 7:58 AM

I am having the same problem as the original poster.  After I save the workflow and leave the editor, when I come back into the editor it will not keep any further changes and reverts back to what I originally setup.  This seems to be a bug to me.

Posts 26262
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jan 27 2019 12:54 PM

Robert J Farthing:

I am having the same problem as the original poster.  After I save the workflow and leave the editor, when I come back into the editor it will not keep any further changes and reverts back to what I originally setup.  This seems to be a bug to me.

Can you provide a step by step description of what you are doing - especially what workflow you are editing each time? For the life of me, I can't reproduce the problem so I can't tell if the bug is in the software or the users' actions.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 310
Michael Hite | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jan 27 2019 1:38 PM

Here is a screencast video to demonstrate the problem.

https://youtu.be/DMJqrOGVIYs

2015 13" MacBook Pro - 2 Ghz Intel i7 - 16 GB RAM - 500GB SSD - 2018 iMac Pro - 3.2GHz 8-core Xeon - both systems running OS 10.14.3 (Mojave)

 

Posts 24842
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jan 27 2019 2:36 PM

Michael Hite:
Here is a screencast video to demonstrate the problem.

I can reproduce with a similar bible reference Workflow. But the deletion appears to stick the second time I try it!

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Posts 310
Michael Hite | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jan 27 2019 2:49 PM

There are times when I edit the workflow and click the DONE button and the changes don't appear in the workflow as it is presented. Then I click Edit this Workflow and my changes are there. Then a close the workflow and reopen it and it reverts back to the original with no changes present.

2015 13" MacBook Pro - 2 Ghz Intel i7 - 16 GB RAM - 500GB SSD - 2018 iMac Pro - 3.2GHz 8-core Xeon - both systems running OS 10.14.3 (Mojave)

 

Posts 26262
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jan 27 2019 3:47 PM

I created a BUG thread pointing to this thread just to make sure it is seen by Logos.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 2567
LogosEmployee
Philana R. Crouch | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 22 2019 1:04 PM

Michael Hite:

I have spend untold amounts of time trying to figure out how to edit a workflow. I see so much potential to this tool but for the life of me I cannot figure it out. My problem is that I cannot seem to edit a workflow after I have made progress creating it and then I click  DONE to save it. If I go back latter and select that workflow and choose Edit with the right-click menu It presents the workflow to me to edit. But every time I make changes and then elect DONE agin, when I run the workflow or open it again to continue editing none of my changes are present. I just spent a couple of hours adding to a workflow I started to create earlier only to find none of my work saved.

I have made sure that no iterations of the workflow are currently listed under Started Workflows.

Do I have to create the entire workflow in one session?

Do I have to save the modified workflow under a new name?

Is this simply a bug? It seems that it should not work this way.

This has been fixed in 8.3 SR-3.

Page 1 of 1 (13 items) | RSS