Question regarding Personal Books on Logos

Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
This post has 8 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 101
pk47 | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Mar 30 2019 11:39 AM

Hoping someone might help me out here. 

I transcribe my sermons and then input them into a Docx file, which then goes into the personal book on Logos. Does anyone know of the fastest and easiest way to add a sermon without rebuilding the whole book? Currently, I have to rebuild the book and upload it again to the server for each small addition. Hoping there is an easier way. 

Thank you 

Posts 1913
Mark | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 30 2019 12:23 PM

I do the same as you do.  I do not know of an easier way, but do not find myself inconvenienced by it.  What I do wish would be for the ability of Logos to limit the previous versions stored in the cloud to a set number (such as 6 or 10).  The reason is because I make many changes and upload new copies all the time.  So there must be hundreds of old versions stored on the logos servers.

Posts 27127
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 30 2019 12:31 PM

I'm not sure what you are asking. If you want to use the personal book with the new material, it has to be rebuilt. There are no alternatives. You could, of course, wait to add the new material every month or two... However, recompiling a personal book should only take a minute or two. 

OSX & iOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 13141
Forum MVP
Mark Barnes | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 30 2019 1:16 PM

pk47:
I transcribe my sermons and then input them into a Docx file, which then goes into the personal book on Logos. Does anyone know of the fastest and easiest way to add a sermon without rebuilding the whole book? Currently, I have to rebuild the book and upload it again to the server for each small addition. Hoping there is an easier way. 

That's the only way, unless you want to use the sermon editor or notes tool — but you won't get 'proper' Logos resources that way. Alternatively, you could just rebuild the book each month, instead of each week.

Posts 101
pk47 | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 30 2019 1:56 PM

Thanks guys. I assumed that was the only way. The only inconvenience with that particular method is that I have to essentially delete the previous file every time, which causes me to lose any highlights. But if that is what it takes to have personal books, I'm not complaining.

Posts 27127
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 30 2019 2:16 PM

pk47:
I have to essentially delete the previous file every time, which causes me to lose any highlights.

What do you mean "delete"? Are you losing your highlights? If so, are you simply adding the new material to the end? Is there anything which shifts the old material? 

OSX & iOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 1913
Mark | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 30 2019 6:24 PM

pk47:

Thanks guys. I assumed that was the only way. The only inconvenience with that particular method is that I have to essentially delete the previous file every time, which causes me to lose any highlights. But if that is what it takes to have personal books, I'm not complaining.

I do not lose my highlights unless the change is quite major.  But lately, I have had to close out the file in Logos, and actually close out Logos and restart it for a new version to be built.  If I do not close out Logos, then the new version will fail when building.  That did not used to happen but it does happen now and it is very annoying. 

Posts 309
Robert Neely | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 30 2019 7:23 PM

Mark:

I do not lose my highlights unless the change is quite major.  But lately, I have had to close out the file in Logos, and actually close out Logos and restart it for a new version to be built.  If I do not close out Logos, then the new version will fail when building.  That did not used to happen but it does happen now and it is very annoying. 

This has been a well known problem since at least Logos 6.  On a few occasions I do not have to restart Logos after commpiling a PB but most of the time I do.  I have not been able to find the magic combination that "works" without having to restart.

https://community.logos.com/forums/t/98408.aspx 

Posts 24477
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Mar 31 2019 3:05 AM

pk47:
The only inconvenience with that particular method is that I have to essentially delete the previous file every time, which causes me to lose any highlights.

If you make changes to the same file(s), you don't have to change/delete Body Files in the Personal Books tool. As stated above, you only lose Highlights if the change is major. And you don't have to Upload the PB unless you have multiple installations of Logos (even then, you can transfer it manually).

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Page 1 of 1 (9 items) | RSS