How do you handle switch from studying to reading?

Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
This post has 7 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 641
Jim | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Jul 15 2019 10:36 AM

I normally have a study window open with many panes: a pane for original language bibles, a pane for language helps, a pane with tabs for several English texts, a pane for commentaries, a pane for highlight tools, and a pane for notes ( I use a 24" monitor).

While I'm studying a passage I may do a topic search and open a book that I just want to focus on reading. If I tell that tab to open in another window and minimize the busy main Logos window that almost works. But I'd really like to be able to have my highlight pane and clippings pane open alongside it without having to find the resource all over again.

Has anyone else run into a need to do this? How do you handle it? Is there a way to tell Logos to open another layout and make the resource you're looking at the main one in the new view?

Have a great day,
jmac

Posts 1997
Forum MVP
Reuben Helmuth | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Jul 15 2019 11:17 AM

Jim:
Is there a way to tell Logos to open another layout and make the resource you're looking at the main one in the new view?

There's no "button" as such. My approach is to open the reading resource in a floating window, then use the add tab button to open the Notes tool (need to drag Notes in order to put it side by side with the book). Does that make sense and does it satisfy your need?

Posts 13359
Forum MVP
Mark Barnes | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Jul 15 2019 12:22 PM

Jim:
How do you handle it?

I leave my desk, pick up my iPad and go into another room. There are too many distractions on the PC.

Posts 1633
Allen Browne | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Jul 15 2019 5:55 PM

I open the book in a new window, and move it onto a 2nd monitor.

Plenty space. Great for scrolling. And I can still see the Info window, Bible text etc on the other window.