Best Method - Guides, Tools, etc

Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
This post has 10 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 66
Chuck | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Apr 21 2020 9:30 AM

I am in my first year using Logos. I have gained a lot of ground, but I still have nagging doubts in the back of my mind over whether I'm using the best method to get the most from my study time. Plus, when there are several possible approaches, I also feel like I'm on information overload. The feelings of nagging doubts and information-overload while attempting to study, are, of course, counter-productive.

For example, when studying a topic, there are at least these several approaches:

• Bible Browser (Tools > Reference > Bible Browser)
  • Factbook (Tools > Factbook)
  • New Nave's Topical Bible
  • Passage List (Docs > New > Passage List)
  • Sermon Starter Guide (Guides menu > Guides > Sermon Starter Guide)
  • Study command (entered via the GO Box - open built-in Topic or Passage Study layouts)
  • Topic Guide (Guides menu > Guides > Topic Guide)
  • Workflow - Biblical Topic Study (Guides menu > Workflows > Biblical Topic Study)

I would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Chuck

Posts 932
Justin Gatlin | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Apr 21 2020 9:41 AM

These are all great resources. For studying a topic, consider the topic guide as increasingly deprecated. I would either use the Factbook (which will pull from Nave and other resources) or the workflow, depending on how much handholding you want. The passage list is a good place to store your own research, but is not very helpful for beginning a study, and the Sermon starter guide is a little bit clunky when you do not want all the extra things it includes. The Go Box is almost always a good option. 
I know Logos has done free short courses on studying a passage before, but I have not seen one on doing a topical study. 

Posts 219
MWW | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Apr 21 2020 9:42 AM