An example of blatant overpricing

Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
This post has 12 Replies | 3 Followers

Posts 6
Jeff Rodrigues | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Sep 29 2020 9:53 PM

I've been using Logos Bible Software since the late 1990s, and I've been very appreciative of their available products.  However, I've recently noticed something very disturbing to me that is an obvious example of blatant overpricing.

Recently I noticed an available video product on logos.com called "How to Read the Bible for All its Worth Video Lectures," based on the book with a very similar title.  What stood out to me was the listed price of the resource:  $149.99.  The interesting thing is that this very same resource is available in DVD format for nearly $30 at multiple outlets (not just Amazon).  Even the DVD publisher's own web site, zondervan.com, lists the DVD for $29.99.

When I initially saw this, I left a comment in the reviews section about this product being over $100 cheaper in DVD format elsewhere, and the comment was apparently removed by Faithlife because it was no longer there.  I later posted the same comment again, and again the comment was removed by someone else.  This happened multiple times.

This raises a couple of questions...

1.  Why is Faithlife choosing to overcharge this resource by over $100 compared to the DVD version?

2.  Why can't Faithlife take reasonable criticism for this?

I've seen certain resources cost a little more within Logos compared to other formats, and I get that.  But over $100 more?  When I see this happen, it begins to make me question the business practices of Faithlife and whether I want to continue to purchase their resources.

Posts 2753
DominicM | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Sep 29 2020 10:19 PM

Jeff, 
it not all FL fault, they have hands tied,