Self Learn Logos vs MP Training - please share your experience and thoughts

Page 2 of 2 (39 items) < Previous 1 2
This post has 38 Replies | 4 Followers

Posts 551
Liam Maguire | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Oct 18 2020 12:21 AM

BillS:
My counsel? What do you need Logos for? If you need it for more than you can currently use & either don't have the time or don't feel comfortable playing with it to discover what you need, by all means get training... It all starts with what you need it for.

This is great advice! For my part...

I’ve been using logos since 2011 and seen a lot of changes to the software in that time... All for the better I would say. My personally circumstances are that I don't have a lot of spare income or spare time, as a result I don't have the luxury of investing in a training sub, a two day intensive, etc. and so self-taught is the only option for me. But like Bill I'm a confident self-learner and in FL credit L7 and L8 both worked to make the software more accessible (Bible Browser and Concordance interactive both come to mind). 

That said, there are some distinct shortcomings to self-taught route.

1. I know I don't use the software to its fullest. I hear what Bill's says and it is great advice, for me, with a library of over 3,000 titles I find it erksome that I don't use those resources to the full. It feels like using a top of the range sports car just to take the kids to school and back. I always get the sense it was made for more and if I could just... Then I'd be away. For example, Collections is certainly not used to its fullest neither search. 

2. I find learning the search language worse than trying to learn Greek. I get that it is logically etc, however, my non-logical dyslexic brain really rails against it. 9 years in and I still haven't mastered it. Training is probably what I need to crack the nut.