Did Augustine really 'stray' from the Fathers?

Page 1 of 1 (20 items)
This post has 19 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 3752
True North | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Nov 25 2020 8:31 AM

I just read this and was wondering if anyone could suggest some resources that talk about the subject line.

The 500-year-old theology of John Calvin was directly derived from Augustine who strayed from the foundation of traditional Patristic theology over 1,000 years prior to Calvin 

https://ref.ly/logosres/9780998138558?ref=Page.p+34&off=94

mm.

Posts 1917
Ken McGuire | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Nov 25 2020 9:17 AM

Oh boy. This is a complicated topic. First of all, I will admit that I am not an expert in this, but I am aware of discussion related to the following questions:

Is there a consensus on nature and grace before Augustine? If so, how detailed was it? Where there regional distinctions (was Augustine building on a North African way of talking)? What was Augustine's actual teaching? Is Augustine's defense of the goodness of nature against the Manicheans (eg. Lib. Arb.) consistent with his talk about Original Sin against the Pelagians (eg. Contra Julian)? Pelagians were condemned at the Council of Ephesus. Was this just politics to get the West on the side of the council, or might Cyril's Christology imply that Pelagianism is heresy? A significant part of Augustine's teaching comes out of his view of Baptism. What is his view of Baptismal efficacy and regeneration? How does this fit with traditional Patristic theology? Does Calvin share this?

And I am sure that there are many other rabbit holes one will start to find when investigating further.

The Gospel is not ... a "new law," on the contrary, ... a "new life." - William Julius Mann

L8 Anglican, Lutheran and Orthodox Silver, Reformed Starter, Academic Essentials

L7 Lutheran Gold, Anglican Bronze

Posts 11433
DMB | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Nov 25 2020 9:36 AM