Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
This post has 5 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 28
Brian Abildgaard | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Feb 26 2021 12:50 PM

(Using Logos 9 Desktop version; Windows 10 64-bit) 

Would it be possible to delete an image for "User Uploaded" media? 

I was uploading a silly picture of myself to demo out some of the Logos Desktop features.

I saw a previous post that indicated this was a problem in the past.

It's definitely not a major issue, but it would be nice to do a periodic clean-up as I start using the software a bit more.


OS Name: Microsoft Windows 10 Home
OS Version: 10.0.19042 N/A Build 19042

Posts 28
Brian Abildgaard | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Feb 26 2021 7:49 PM

I believed I figured out how to do this, but it was a bit tricky to understand.

The "insert media" button from my notes referenced my image which was referred to as an asset. I was then able to select the asset/image and delete it from my media library.

Notes > Insert Media/Add Image > Upload/Delete Asset 

If I navigate to my media this way, I do not have the same Delete options.

Tools > Media > My media

It looks like even though these menus appear to be loading the same data, the particular menus have a specific fine-tuned function. Selecting "My Media" via the tools option does not let you delete your uploaded media objects.

However, navigating from the "Notes" Add/Insert media, looks like a proper media library where I have the control I would expect.

I don't wouldn't necessarily call this a bug, but rather something that I didn't think was that intuitive that had me stumped. 

Should these two menu items allow for the same exact functionality since both are linked to the same media library? My expectation would be yes, but perhaps these are distinct functions I'm not quite understanding.

Thanks!


OS Name: Microsoft Windows 10 Home
OS Version: 10.0.19042 N/A Build 19042

Posts 744
Kevin | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Feb 26 2021 11:26 PM

Note however you cannot permanently delete the media, disappointingly.
It is still available to be undeleted at https://amber.faithlife.com/?board=deleted.

Posts 28
Brian Abildgaard | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Feb 27 2021 4:54 PM

Good point. It would be nice to have a true purge feature.

The more content that our software has to index, the longer it will take to load images and eventually I would imagine that the storage on the FL servers would be burdened by user uploaded media storage.

However, perhaps it's not an extensively used feature which is why the true purge hasn't been developed. 

Maybe someone can help unravel the mystery with the lack of a true purge for the delete of user uploaded media. Thanks Kevin. I thought I solved it, but saw that it's still available in the 'deleted' tags. 

OS Name: Microsoft Windows 10 Home
OS Version: 10.0.19042 N/A Build 19042

Posts 744
Kevin | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Feb 27 2021 11:14 PM

It is possibly a business decision to mollycoddle us to prevent permanent loss of data, and the subsequent rage and/or tears in support calls. I seriously doubt there would be many cases where someone would accidentally...

  1. Delete their data
  2. Go to the bin and permanently delete their data

...but who knows, end users are delightfully inventive, so perhaps it is not a bad decision.

Posts 191
Fabian | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Feb 28 2021 2:51 AM

Yes please. I would love to have this too for the Mac.

Fabian

Page 1 of 1 (6 items) | RSS