How to search for all bible passages where people face decisions in their lives?

Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
This post has 7 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 11
Jonathan Rhein | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Mar 30 2021 8:14 AM

How would I best do a search for all bible passages where people (both from OT and NT) face decisions in their lives? I would like to learn from them and understand how to deal with decision making in a God pleasing manner. Does the bible browser offer some help in this regard or is there a better way?

I am happy for all tips and advice as I am rather new to Logos. Thank you!

Posts 32110
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 30 2021 3:43 PM

Jonathan Rhein:
a search for all bible passages where people (both from OT and NT) face decisions in their lives?

You can't do a search if you can't define what you mean - how do you propose to identify people "facing decisions"? What language constructs indicate "facing decisions"? If you were simply reading through the Bible looking for situations of "facing decisions", how would you know when you found one? Once you can answer these questions, I can tell you how to search for it.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 11
Jonathan Rhein | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Mar 31 2021 4:49 AM

MJ. Smith:
how do you propose to identify people "facing decisions"?

That is a good question! I thought Logos might have already created some dataset for this particular topic, such as "Miracles" which lets you filter through all miracles in the bible browser.

If this is not the case, then I guess I am searching for all occurrences where people ask God for His will on a particular question, like in 2Sam 5:19 OR when God speaks to people with regard to their way of life (e.g. instructions for next steps ahead), like in Gen 12:1.