Great Books of the Western World by Encyclopaedia Britannica

Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
This post has 10 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 708
Kathleen Marie | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Nov 23 2021 8:22 PM

Great Books of the Western World by  Encyclopaedia Britannica is on sale.

https://www.logos.com/product/55052/great-books-of-the-western-world

Does anyone love this set as much as me? Does anyone use it at all?

I am still learning how to search it. It seems more searchable in Verbum than Logos. I was watching and following along in an MP tutorial on the Fact Book and the set never popped up once.

Posts 592
Carmen Gauvin-O'Donnell | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Nov 24 2021 3:27 AM

What I'd be curious about, since I own Logos and not Verbum is WHY it would be more easily searchable in one than the other. Shouldn't it be identical?

Anyone? I'm just curious...

Posts 708
Kathleen Marie | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Nov 24 2021 7:53 AM

I don't know what I am doing, but the set just comes up in the Catholic topical index and some other things.

There used to be a subscription aimed at classical language students that has been discontinued? It was more closely aligned with Verbum?

Posts 708
Kathleen Marie | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Nov 24 2021 8:05 AM

If a secular community college professor gets used to me citing the Great Books, then they give me greater permissions to also quote the Bible as just one of the ancient/medieval citations that I am always throwing around.

I love throwing aside the "must be no older than 5/10 years old" rule, and getting praised instead of reprimanded for it. I love, love, love this set.