"SEARCH WITHIN" limits

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 62
Rob Wilson | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Mar 18 2022 6:54 AM

Trying to Find Instances of Both of 2 Hebrew Lemmas WITHIN a Chapter of the Bible.  Trying to find instances of where Both words for "Firstfruit(s)" occur in a fairly large proximity.

I don't think Logos has such a feature.  Please advise ... (Thanks!)

Example Search Queries:

lemma:רֵאשִׁית WITHIN CHAPTER lemma:בִּכּוּרִים

lemma:רֵאשִׁית WITHIN 1000 WORDS lemma:בִּכּוּרִים

Posts 463
John Connell | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 18 2022 8:30 AM

You might try your search with your (lemma1 AND lemma2) WITHIN {Milestone <Acts 1:1-26>} where you put the Range you want to search where the Acts reference is.

I'm new to searching so I expect you will get better answers pretty soon.

-john

And he will turn the hearts of fathers to their children and the hearts of children to their fathers (Mal 4:6a)

Posts 3072
LogosEmployee
Andrew Batishko | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 18 2022 8:57 AM

Bible and Morph searches can only compare terms within the same verse. If you want to deal with things at a chapter level, then you will want to do a Basic search instead.

This search should do the trick: <Lemma = lbs/he/רֵאשִׁית> AND <Lemma = lbs/he/בִּכּוּרִים>

Or use WITHIN 1000 WORDS instead of AND if you want a narrower proximity than the entire chapter.

Andrew Batishko | Faithlife software developer

Posts 27972
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Mar 19 2022 10:34 AM

John Connell:
You might try your search with your (lemma1 AND lemma2) WITHIN {Milestone <Acts 1:1-26>} where you put the Range you want to search

In most searches you will specify Proximity and Range.

• Proximity specifies how close you want the terms to be, usually specified as a number of Words e.g. (lemma1 WITHIN 50 WORDS lemma2)
    • AND says I don't care how far apart they are