Need help with a search...

Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
This post has 7 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 487
Jordan Litchfield | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Apr 25 2022 5:56 AM

I am studying the way in which the psalter interacts / makes use of the nonhuman environment around us - animate or inanimate, the earth, the celestial bodies, etc. I am trying to do a search using the various senses in the Bible Sense Lexicon and would like to simplify my current string.

For example: <Sense element> OR <Sense stone> OR <Sense soil> OR <Sense ice> OR <Sense liquid> OR <Sense animal> OR <Sense vegetation> OR <Sense celestial body>

Despite this long string, in the very first Psalm I am clearly missing elements. For example, here is Psalm 1:3 (NIV): "That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither— whatever they do prospers."

My current search string has only picked up 'tree', and has missed 'water', 'fruit', and 'leaf'. Now, I could go through that verse and identify the sense (e.g., 'water' = body of water), but my string is already long and tedious and I was curious if someone had a suggestion for a more overarching / comprehensive search, either through BSL or something else. Otherwise I can just do the work.

Posts 2642
Forum MVP
John Fidel | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Apr 25 2022 7:04 AM

Hi Jordan,

Have you looked the bible browser in tools?

It should give you a good idea of all the things mentioned in Psalms. You can select them one at a time. It may help you develop your search. You can use sense rather than things if you want as well. 

Posts 3050
LogosEmployee
Andrew Batishko | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Apr 25 2022 8:30 AM