Greek Question

Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
This post has 12 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 376
Dan Sheppard | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Aug 30 2010 6:18 PM

I am not a Pastor, seminary student, nor have I studied Greek.

I do like learning though, so when I use my Logos 4, I am interested in following the Greek.

In Matthew 10:1 for example, it says "And he called to him, his twelve disciples...."

Upon checking the word "called" it shows the greek letters, προσκαλεσάμενος in the little window, which lists: Surface, MSS, MSS TRL, Lemma, Lemma TRL, Morph, Strong's, Louw.  I can see under the MSS TRL, that the word is in english alphabet, listed as proskalesamenos.

What I want to do, is copy the word in english, so I can paste it into my Bible study notes (as a reminder to me, on how to pronounce it).

Is there a resource I am missing in my library, which allows me to do this?  I notice that of the items listed, only a couple are bolded, I assume showing available: Strong's and Louw.  So is there a module, which would provide the MSS TRL for me to access the word, or is there another way?

Thanks.

Posts 1680
Jerry M | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Aug 30 2010 6:45 PM

If you right click on the word in an interlinear Bible and choose manuscript on the right side of the popup.  (Then already have a resource like BDAG open somewhere in your layout.  If you don't have BDAG you will have to experiment with the lexicons you have).  Then select search all open resources on the left of your popup.  Then from the search results open the BDAG result by clicking on the left.  You will then have the word your looking for highlighted.  That is a hyperlink.  Click on it and BDAG will open and your word will be highlighted.  Highlight it and drag it into your notes.

"For the kingdom of God does not consist in words but in power"      Wiki Table of Contents

Posts 1680
Jerry M | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Aug 30 2010 6:52 PM