Searching for a Topic

Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
This post has 2 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 2
Dorothy Hill | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Sep 4 2010 1:20 PM

Hello.  I am a seminary student new to Logos for Mac and hoping for some guidance.  I need to study topics like "the existence of God" and "inerrancy of the Bible."  Can anyone give me guidance as to the best way to search these topics in Logos? How do I filter through the results to find the documents that actually speak to the topic in detail, rather than just mention the phrase?

Also, how do I set up my layout to have a section with bibles, one with dictionaries, a section with commentaries, etc.?  Will I be able to preset the screen so that it always opens to these resources?

Thank you!

Posts 19306
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Sep 4 2010 2:43 PM

Dorothy Hill:
I need to study topics like "the existence of God" and "inerrancy of the Bible."  Can anyone give me guidance as to the best way to search these topics in Logos? How do I filter through the results to find the documents that actually speak to the topic in detail, rather than just mention the phrase?

Hi Dorothy, welcome to the Logos forums!

For specific topical searches, Logos has a new concept called LCV (Logos Controlled Vocabulary). They are in the process of going through all the reference resources in their catalogue and retagging them for LCV. Some of the dictionaries and encyclopedias are done already, but by no means all. You'll have the best chance of finding relevant hits by limiting your search to one keyword, or an exact phrase if it's definitely going to be the key topic name (for example the name of a famous person in Christian history). Something like "inerrancy of the Bible" is less likely to find a topical hit than just plain inerrancy, for example.