USING TVM

Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
This post has 6 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 4
John David Benson | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Nov 11 2010 10:32 PM

I am new to all things related to logos.  I am writing a paper in which I need to filter out certain Hebrew forms in the OT (such as all qal infinitives).  

First, do I need to purchase Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia before TVM will work in Libronix?  Second, will those/any tools allow me to filter such material out of the text?

Thank-you for your time 

Posts 19333
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Nov 11 2010 11:03 PM

First, no. You can use any Morphologically tagged English Bible (e.g., ESV, NKJV, NRSV). But if you're learning about Hebrew forms in the OT, I'm guessing you'll eventually want to own a morphologically tagged edition of BHS anyway.

Second, use Morph Search to find all occurrances of a certain form:

I've forgotten much of my Hebrew grammar, so I can't remember if you'd want to select "Infinitive Absolute" or "Infinitive Construct" to get a basic infinitive. But this is the menu where you'd make your selection. To get it, click on the Search icon to open a search tab, click on Morph to get a morphological search, make sure "All Morph Text" and "All Passages" are selected, choose the Bible version you want to use (which will force the morphology selection for you), then type @ to bring up the morph selection menu. As you click on selections there, it will build up the morph search codes for you (e.g. @Vq as above will find all qal verbs).

For more info on Morph Search, see http://wiki.logos.com/Morphological_Search.

Posts 13420
Mark Barnes | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Nov 12 2010 12:26 AM

Rosie Perera:
I've forgotten much of my Hebrew grammar, so I can't remember if you'd want to select "Infinitive Absolute" or "Infinitive Construct" to get a basic infinitive.

You can search for both by clicking the first, then CTRL+clicking the second.

Posts 4