Newbie Q - Suggested additions to Scholar's Library

Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
This post has 12 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 1875
Paul-C | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Aug 27 2011 5:08 AM

Hi guys.  I'm a newbie to logos and just purchased the Scholar's Library base package the other day.  I'd be grateful if anyone who started with this package could suggest some reasonable value additional resources which they added to their library and which really benefited them. 

I guess I'm trying to get at, are there any additional resources which people see as pretty fundamental and which won't break the bank?! 

I've seen on a few of the tutorial videos mention to the Greek-English Lexicon of the NT and Other Early Christian Literature (BDAG) - is this one of the first additional resources I should be looking at?

At this point in time, I'll be using logos to prepare sermons for my church, and using it for my MA in Biblical and Theological Studies which I started back in March 2011.

All recommendations will be gratefully received Yes

Thanks.

Posts 453
Mike S. | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Aug 27 2011 5:19 AM

I'm guessing you'll need BDAG for your MA Greek requirement, in which case BDAG is a necessary addition. If you can, look at upgrading to Platinum which includes BDAG if you have a Greek language requirement for your MA. 

If you don't have a Greek language requirement for your MA, then I doubt you'll "need" BDAG and you'd be better served by upgrading to the Scholar's Gold base package, if that's too much, then Silver. Once there, I'd take a look at the fantastic value found in the "IVP Essentials" package. 

Posts 1674
Paul N | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Aug 27 2011 7:04 AM

I concur with what Mike recommends.  As one who prepares sermons I find having at least one quality, affordable commentary spanning the entire Bible by multiple authors and one commentary (NT) from a single trusted author would be great to help prepare.

A couple ideas for both are: