Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
This post has 10 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 6
Robert Smith | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Dec 14 2011 8:37 PM

I am new to presentaiton software, outside of PPT.

I am trying to understand the benefits of Proclaim (beside cost) to see why or if this should be our long term platform. Another benefit I know of is what seems to be a very short learning curve.

Can anyone shed some light on how this compares to other platforms?

Rob

Posts 9483
Forum MVP
Mark Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Dec 14 2011 9:31 PM

Robert,

The best thing you could do is download and try out some competing worship projection software. Because of Forum guidelines I'm not free to say what other ones to try, but there are three-four that would be worth taking a look at.

Proclaim was originally conceived of as a platform for churches that lack technical people to learn somewhat more complicated software. Connect that with the possibility of collaboration and of live during the service 'signals' to compatible devices, and you have most of what I understand Proclaim to be about. You have to trade off some things: flexibility of design, availability of the Internet, and on-going cost. Most stand-alone worship software packages (if not all) have no subscription fee. They may offer service and upgrade plans that cost a monthly fee, but I believe all of them can be purchased and you are done with costs for some time. With Proclaim you are paying at least $200 a year for as long as you want to use it.

Again, if you have tried Proclaim out, try a couple of other packages. Most of them cost what a small church would spend on Proclaim for two years.

Pastor, North Park Baptist Church

Bridgeport, CT USA

Posts 1522
Josh | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Dec 14 2011 11:52 PM

Let's just say that I present like a pro! Wink

Posts 6
Robert Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Dec 15 2011 6:46 AM