Base Package Indecision

Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
This post has 9 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 452
Mitchell | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Dec 21 2011 3:35 PM

Hi all,

Apologies in advance for the long post. I'm hoping to glean some of the forum's collective wisdom in a debate I'm having with myself. I'm a soon-to-be Seminary student who's planning to use Logos primarily for school. I also teach small groups at my church (and preach, very rarely).

My dilemma (trilemma really) is this: I currently have the Bible Study library. It's handy, but definitely limited. I know in Seminary I'm going to need a lot more from Logos, especially in terms of original language resources. I got some money for Christmas from my in-laws to put towards those resources, and I'm debating what path to take. After talking with a Logo sales rep, here are my options:

1. Upgrade to Scholar's. There are two problems with this. One, it's expensive. I was given $200 and doubt I'll be able to justify spending more than that. Two, I'll be paying for a lot of stuff I don't need or want. I have absolutely no use for anything in the preaching, ministry, counseling, devotional, or apologetics categories. Resources like that I'll get in paper form or on Kindle, and they'll be selected by recommendation of people I respect, not by inclusion in a default package from a software company. This is at the bottom of the list, as of now.