Mac connections and Logos

Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
This post has 5 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 190
EmileB | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Jan 2 2012 6:41 AM

I'm fairly new to the Mac world. I'm trying to figure out how to invest my financial resources for  hardware in such a way that would maximize my benefits.

I currently have a 13" Macbook Air that works great with Logos. I've had no crashes or performance issues. I do have trouble, however, with communications. I live and work in an area of the world where the Internet is just abysmal most of the time. Sometimes (rarely) I can reach dial up speeds, but mostly its less than half of that. So use of the Internet other than the simplest emailing generally means a half hour trip into town... even then its not up to US standards.

I am therefore thinking about how to set up something like a wireless intranet for my family where I can have resident a lot of the things cached that we would otherwise access from the Web. I was considering the purchase of an AirPort Extreme and perhaps an Apple TV device for this purpose. For Logos work, I do fine with my laptop, but as is commented upon commonly, its not the most convenient solution for simply reading, and I have a very large library accumulated over the years. So I am debating here whether to purchase a Kindle or an iPad in order to read these titles.

The heart of my question is this: If I were to go the iPad route along with an AirPort extreme, would I be able to put my Logos resources onto an external SSD plugged into the AirPort Extreme and then access all of my resources via the Logos App on my iPad? As accessing my resources on the iPad via the cloud or via Biblia isn't going to be practical, I thought that this might provide me with better access to my entire library. If this is workable, what advantages might this provide me over just using an app on the iPad that would simply mirror my Macbook Air?