Page 2 of 4 (62 items) < Previous 1 2 3 4 Next >
This post has 61 Replies | 10 Followers

Posts 285
David Gullick | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 9 2010 9:12 PM

I'm just starting to learn arcing. Has anyone set up a visual filter to help aid them with arcing?

Logos Platinum

Windows 7 - 64 Bit
Lenovo laptop E520 i7-2640M, 2.8GHz 8G Ram, 2G Graphics

Australia

Posts 582
Gary O'Neal | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 9 2010 9:21 PM

David Gullick:

I'm just starting to learn arcing. Has anyone set up a visual filter to help aid them with arcing?

I don't think a visual filter will give you what you're asking for. Arcing deals much more with semantics--for example, how is this participle used in this clause. You could set up a visual filter to flag certain constructions you were interested in. Here's one I set up. I played with this a bit, but didn't find that it really helped that much--YMMV.

πάντα εἰς δόξαν θεοῦ ποιεῖτε

Posts 188
Si | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Mar 10 2010 7:20 AM

Jacob Hantla:

There is no diagramming yet in logos 4. I hope that they give us the ability to do arcing well when they implement diagramming down the road.

More about arcing can be found at

You can find a free PDF of Schreiner's chapter on "Tracing the Argument" (or "Arcing") at the SBTS website http://www.sbts.edu/documents/tschreiner/book_IPE_chapter6.pdf .  I learned this method from Schreiner himself in Intro to the NT: Acts-Rev at Seminary.  This has proved to be an invaluable tool in exegesis, and I would love for it to be incorporated in Logos.  However, there are two ways to trace the relationships between propositions: bracketing and arcing (see Schreiner).  Schreiner uses brackets, so I learned how to trace the argument with brackets.  I tried using the arcs on www.biblearc.com, but could not visually see the relationships.  Therefore, if this is in fact incorporated, please incorporate both bracketing and arcing.    

Posts 880