Recommendation please: Microsoft Word VS Apple IWork Pages

Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
This post has 14 Replies | 3 Followers

Posts 29
Bishop Jim Lowe | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Mar 14 2012 3:26 PM

I have had very little experience with Microsoft Word and IWork Pages by Apple. I was wondering if someone could give me some guidance as to which works best with Logos4 for the Mac? Being a pastor, I do not want to spend a lot of time learning how to work a word processor and would rather spend the time studying the word.

Additionally, I would like also to avoid the tedious process of copy and paste from Logos4 to the word processor. I understand with Microsoft Word there is a process that works with services on the Mac. Does this work the same way with Pages?

Suggestions? I have both products. 

Thanks!

Posts 15805
Forum MVP
Keep Smiling 4 Jesus :) | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Mar 14 2012 4:42 PM

Answer depends on what want to do.   PC Mag has a review of Office 2011 => http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2369733,00.asp

Logos 4 Mac has right click option to send stuff to Apple's iWorks and Microsoft Office.

Word 2011 and Pages '09 are a bit right to left challenged.  Apple discussion forum about using Hebrew characters and Latin numerals in Pages 4.1 => https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3471532?start=0&tstart=0

Observation: LibreOffice is free, which is similar to Office, but has Complex Text Layout (CTL) option for use with Hebrew right to left.  For Logos 4 personal books, LibreOffice allows hyperlink URL's to keep logosres: format while Word 2011 and Pages require use of alternate syntax: [[text >> logosres:#####]]

For Logos 4 Personal Books, Microsoft Office and LibreOffice can save as docx.  Pages can save as doc, which can be opened in Word or LibreOffice Writer, then save as docx.

Jim Lowe: