Opinions/questions about notes

Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
This post has 12 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 235
Tom Geswein | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Nov 20 2009 9:20 AM

I have been using Logos for about four years now and I have never used the notes capabilities beyond dabbling.  A bible teacher that I listen to recommends not taking notes in your bible program, just in case the company goes belly-up or (gasp) another better bible program becomes available.  The little that I have played with the notes features, I like them.  I have extensive written notes in my bible that I would like to start adding to L4, but I am still hesitant.

For those of you that have extensive notes in Logos, do you have any regrets doing so?  Are you satisfied with the way they work in Logos, or do you prefer something more?  Are all of your notes in Logos or do you have several ways of organizing them?

Also, I was curious as to how you organize your notes.  Do you simply use one big note file or do you have many?  Is there advantages to doing it one way or the other? 

Thanks in advance.

"It seems our problems solve themselves when we look beyond us to those truly in hell."  -  Beyond Our Suffering - AILD

Posts 33279
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Nov 20 2009 10:13 AM

I would not keep notes outside Logos - the visual markers and the My Content make notes within the software ar distinct value added features. Yes, Logos' implementation of notes is not perfect but advantages outweigh disadvantages. Even paper notes are subject to loss - fire or flood. Electronic files are more apt to be lost to failure to back up than needed to convert to a new product.  In the case of conversion, you usually can transfer your notes - even if you have to resort to copy and paste.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 98