Old Testament Discrimination

Page 1 of 1 (18 items)
This post has 17 Replies | 6 Followers

Posts 296
JC54 | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Dec 11 2012 12:36 PM

It might be my problem, but I feel like a new testament scholar has way more reason to be happy with a base package than a Old Testament scholar. I'll be honest I am neither of those, I am just a simple student with a deep love for the old testament.

My point is that Logos is focussing more on new testament than on old and the difference is pretty big. Has anyone noticed the difference in size in the new testament and old testament christmas bundles? it is huge. Please Logos give the Old testament a change, it is more than 2/3 of our bible after all.

Posts 5524
DIsciple II | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 11 2012 12:50 PM

I love OT also Johannes.  Yes there is more in NT bundles than OT.  Might be reflective of what publishers came to the party with on the specials rather than a bias by Logos towards NT.  could also reflect past customer responses to sales with much greater demand for NT resources. I'm with you though and would like to see even more OT resources. In terms of commentaries I think Logos has made good progress in getting the balance  better over the last few years but still some room for improvement.  I don't ever expect the balance to be directly related to the size of the Testaments because the NT is the covenant which we live under - but the OT is very significant in fully understanding the NT so it should never be neglected.

Posts 9947
George Somsel | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 11 2012 12:55 PM

Johannes Hendrik Menkveld:
My point is that Logos is focussing more on new testament than on old and the difference is pretty big. Has anyone noticed the difference in size in the new testament and old testament christmas bundles? it is huge. Please Logos give the Old testament a change, it is more than 2/3 of our bible after all.