MacbookPro

Page 1 of 1 (19 items)
This post has 18 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 2
Rico Bautista | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, May 21 2013 6:00 PM

Hi:

I am a newbie here and planning to buy a MBP for Logos 5. would you recommend the SSD or the HDD model? How have you set up your MBP for this?

I saw the min specs requirement, but was also hoping to learn from your experiences.

Thanks!

Rico

Posts 30479
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, May 21 2013 6:05 PM

I have a MBP, but an older one. The consensus is that an SSD really makes a difference... But you need to get one large enough for all your needs. I may upgrade my computers once Apple Care runs out... But my next Mac purchase will have an SSD (or Fusion) drive. 

macOS, iOS & iPadOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 30479
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, May 21 2013 6:07 PM

Oh... You should know that supplies of MBP's are dwindling, which suggests Apple will release new ones in June. Even if you decide to go with a current model, chances are better deals will come soon. 

Posts 1875
Paul-C | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, May 22 2013 12:02 AM

Welcome to the forums Rico. I have a mid-2009 MBP with a 256GB SSD and 8GB RAM and it runs L5 really well. A more modern MBP with SATA III support (mine is only SATA II) will be even quicker! If you can afford it, I can't recommend a SSD enough.

Posts 1593
Ben | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, May 22 2013 1:22 AM

Word on the street is new laptops to be announced around June 10 at WWDC, though they may or may not be available immediately. It will at least be a spec bump to Intel's new Haswell processors, which means (probably) a minor bump in clockspeed, major bump in integrated graphics, and some kind of battery life increase. 

http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

Edit: and unless you have tons and tons of photos and movies you must carry with you at all times, absolutely the SSD. No question. Major MAJOR speed increases.