Is there a way to undelete notes?

Page 1 of 1 (16 items)
This post has 15 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 1674
Paul Golder | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Dec 17 2009 6:45 PM

I was just wondering if there is a way to undelete a note. The problem is that all one needs to do is accidentally click on the little "x" and the note is gone (like when a track pad skips sometimes)

Thanks

 

"As any translator will attest, a literal translation is no translation at all."

Posts 19271
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Dec 17 2009 6:56 PM

Ctrl+Z will undo.

Posts 1674
Paul Golder | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Dec 17 2009 6:58 PM

Rosie Perera:

Ctrl+Z will undo.

Thanks Rosie, works great Yes

"As any translator will attest, a literal translation is no translation at all."

Posts 1674
Paul Golder | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Dec 17 2009 7:03 PM

BTW, I love this shot:

"As any translator will attest, a literal translation is no translation at all."

Posts 33238
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Dec 17 2009 8:18 PM

Paul Golder:
I was just wondering if there is a way to undelete a note. The problem is that all one needs to do is accidentally click on the little "x" and the note is gone (like when a track pad skips sometimes)

That is why I don't like an x to mean close or delete depending on location ...

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 19271
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Dec 17 2009 9:01 PM

Paul Golder:

BTW, I love this shot:

Thank, you Paul! My website isn't very populated yet. It was a project I did for a web portfolio class and I never quite finished it, and since I'm not making a living on my photography I haven't made it a priority to flesh it out more. I'm using Flickr for most of my stuff now anyway. You can find me at http://www.flickr.com/photos/rosie_perera/. If you're into photography, do you know about the Christian Photographer Fellowship on Flickr?  Sorry to hijack this thread...:-)

Posts 1674
Paul Golder | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Dec 19 2009 7:04 AM

MJ. Smith:
That is why I don't like an x to mean close or delete depending on location ...

If it was a red x, or a little button that said "Delete", that would be a big improvement.

 

"As any translator will attest, a literal translation is no translation at all."

Posts 33238
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Dec 19 2009 11:55 AM

Paul Golder:
If was a red x, or a little button that said "Delete", that would be a big improvement.

Yes, either would be better than the current situation

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 236
Bruce Junkermann | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Dec 19 2009 1:10 PM

Or possibly a popup that said, "Do you want to delete?"

Posts 1674
Paul Golder | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Dec 19 2009 2:46 PM

BruceJunkermann:

Or possibly a popup that said, "Do you want to delete?"

A confirmation would indeed be nice.

"As any translator will attest, a literal translation is no translation at all."

Posts 19271
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Dec 19 2009 5:10 PM

Paul Golder:

BruceJunkermann:

Or possibly a popup that said, "Do you want to delete?"

A confirmation would indeed be nice.

Yes, there need to be confirmations for deleting anything in Logos, and currently there aren't any. It's too easy to shoot yourself in the foot. And while some things are undoable, not everything is. You can't undo deletion of a layout or a custom guide, or a file of any type.

Posts 3771
Francis | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jun 19 2010 8:24 AM

Because L4 is so different from L3, I don't know whether it would be possible to have deleted user items moved to the Windows recycle bin (so as to have the option of restoring that file if needed)? If it is possible, it would be useful.

Posts 675
Jim | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jun 19 2010 8:37 AM

Rosie Perera:
A confirmation would indeed be nice.

I disagree. I dislike Windows' constant pestering with  "do you really want to do this?" messages. Sure I sometimes I am too fast to delete something but  I'd rather have a good Undo function (undo several levels) than training wheels.

A nice compromise would be to have a global setting for the level of warnings/confirmations.

So far I've found Logos 4 has very little Undo capability which does frustrate me at times. In fact I think that several months ago note deletion could not be undone, so this must be a new, and welcome, addition.

Have a great day,
jmac

Posts 9947
George Somsel | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jun 19 2010 9:44 AM

Jim:

Rosie Perera:
A confirmation would indeed be nice.

I disagree. I dislike Windows' constant pestering with  "do you really want to do this?" messages. Sure I sometimes I am too fast to delete something but  I'd rather have a good Undo function (undo several levels) than training wheels.

A nice compromise would be to have a global setting for the level of warnings/confirmations.

So far I've found Logos 4 has very little Undo capability which does frustrate me at times. In fact I think that several months ago note deletion could not be undone, so this must be a new, and welcome, addition.

Windows goes rather overboard with their pestering.  "If you started this ..."  "Do you really want to ..."  Arghh.  One confirmation isn't bad.  More than that is a nuisance.

george
gfsomsel

יְמֵי־שְׁנוֹתֵינוּ בָהֶם שִׁבְעִים שָׁנָה וְאִם בִּגְבוּרֹת שְׁמוֹנִים שָׁנָה וְרָהְבָּם עָמָל וָאָוֶן

Posts 19271
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jun 19 2010 4:44 PM

Francis:

Because L4 is so different from L3, I don't know whether it would be possible to have deleted user items moved to the Windows recycle bin (so as to have the option of restoring that file if needed)? If it is possible, it would be useful.

No, this would not be technically possible, because Logos does not store items in separate files, and the Windows recycle bin is a file-level receptacle. But it has been suggested somewhere that Logos could implement its own "recycle bin" feature, where deleted items show up there for a time and can be undeleted from there. Since the items are all records in databases, it would involve adding a "deleted" flag to each item and not showing deleted items in the places where lists of items show up, but they wouldn't actually be deleted from the databases until the recycle bin was emptied. I'm guessing this would slow down all operations in Logos so I'm not sure it would be worth it. But it's still an idea that should be floated and explored.

Posts 1367
JimTowler | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jun 19 2010 11:08 PM

It would be easy to add a "deleted" flag to everything, and then hide it from every search, lookup, highlight, and everything else possible. It would only show up in a special new "Resource User-Content Control" menu that could include BACKUP, RESTORE, UNDELETE and SYNC CONTROL.

Until we get something like that, I strongly dislike how user-content is mis-managed by the current design of the Logos4 application!

Yes, this is a big deal!!!

For the record, I like most everything else in general, but control of user-content is broken in my view.

Page 1 of 1 (16 items) | RSS