Significant change in search results after update

Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
This post has 7 Replies | 4 Followers

Posts 11
Brad Berglind | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Nov 13 2013 6:16 PM

Before the update, I searched for the manuscript form of Yom from Gen 1:5 in the NASB95 Old Testament and got 495 hits.  After the update, the same search got 1,399 hits.  It seems that the search is returning hits like יּ֖וֹם and where י֔וֹם is in a word - likeכָּל־הַיּֽוֹם׃.  

What's up with this??  It seems like the search before the update was more correct than after the update.

Brad Berglind

MacBookPro Retina, OSX 10.8, 16GB RAM,  Solid State Drive

Atlanta Logos User Group

Posts 27251
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Nov 14 2013 3:48 AM

Brad Berglind:
What's up with this??  It seems like the search before the update was more correct than after the update.

I'm not a Hebrew expert so I can only refer you to this document for the changes that were introduced in 5.2. The comment to note is "By default, Hebrew is not sensitive to any marks in the query" - so has the default changed or are the results now correct? I can reproduce the 5.1 results by using either:

• [match dagesh] י֔וֹם; or
  • [match pointed] י֔וֹם

I note the results are unchanged for LHB (Lexham Hebrew Bible)  i.e. 241 hits. So I'm at a loss to explain the differences for the reverse interlinear bibles e.g. NASB95, ESV

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 86
Scott Fleischman | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Nov 14 2013 10:07 AM

As Dave mentioned, the change in search results is due to Hebrew no longer being sensitive to the dagesh mark by default. Yom is a common word, which is why there is such a significant change in the result count.