Plagarism checker

Page 2 of 2 (37 items) < Previous 1 2
This post has 36 Replies | 5 Followers

Posts 1844
Ken McGuire | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Nov 27 2013 5:58 AM

Re: busy profs.

I had a prof who would assign us a 5 page paper on a complex topic.  If we went over 5 pages, he drew a line at 5 pages with the comment "Good start - no conclusion".  This was actually good for life in the church, since how many would want to read a 10 page essay on a topic in the average parish?  It also kept their grading responsibilities in check.  And I can't imagine a school where the essays are not read - at least by a TA...

SDG

Ken McGuire

The Gospel is not ... a "new law," on the contrary, ... a "new life." - William Julius Mann

L8 Anglican, Lutheran and Orthodox Silver, Reformed Starter, Academic Essentials

L7 Lutheran Gold, Anglican Bronze

Posts 2519
Ronald Quick | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Nov 27 2013 6:05 AM

I have to add my 2 cents also:

I am an adjunct instructor at a community college and one time I had a student properly cite the resource they were using.  But the only problem was their entire paper, except for the opening and closing paragraphs were word-for-word copied and pasted from the article they were using.  I guess it's not technically plagarism since they properly cited the article.  So, I consulted my supervisor (I had only been teaching for a short while) on what to do.  I gave them a low grade and explained why.  What shocked me was that they did it again---they received a failing grade.

Posts 4138
abondservant | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Nov 27 2013 11:05 AM

Tom Reynolds:

abondservant,