Advice on good study tools please

Page 1 of 1 (18 items)
This post has 17 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 22
Tom Gray | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Jan 2 2010 8:28 PM

I'm new to Logos and have not had (yet) the benefit of a Seminary education. I recently purchased the Leadership Edition of Logos 4 and want to use the best tools I currently have at my disposal for the study and teaching of the Word.

Can anyone kindly suggest to me works to include and works to avoid in my studies to help me save time and mistakes? Apart from getting a benevolent donation the Leadership Edition will be the only one I can afford for quite some time so additional books or upgrades in Editions will not be helpful suggestions.

I'm currently reading through MacArthur's Rediscovering Expository Preaching and came across the great advice on making sure the tools you use are the best available for the job at hand - thus my query.

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration!

Tom

Posts 1541
Blair Laird | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jan 2 2010 8:41 PM

Not sure I am answering your question properly but...

The best tools for me are my systematic theologies. The best tools for another person may be something else. Each person has their own style, and their own field that they are working in. There are pastors who do topicals pastors who go chapter by chapter verse by verse.

So what are you trying to accomplish ?

Posts 22
Tom Gray | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jan 2 2010 8:59 PM

Blair Laird:

I will be doing verse by verse studies. I was looking more at what Bible translations do people prefer to STUDY with. Which dictionaries or commentaries are orthodox and which one's are just WAY out there. When should I pull out the Greek/Hebrew tools and what references are the best available. That kind of thing.