Open letter to Logos & Verbum users - response appreciated aka informal poll

Page 2 of 2 (26 items) < Previous 1 2
This post has 25 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 1216
Matt Hamrick | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Aug 12 2014 6:13 AM

I rely heavily on customized passage and exegetical guides and I also rely on the BWS guide at times. I never use the sermon or topic guide as they are worthless for me. I have a reading layout for all my planned reading I use and in that layout I just have the highlighting tool, the plans, the books for the plans, and a dictionary. I also have a language layout so when I am studying the original languages I have the tools available I need. Mark covered it earlier when he said you can make a layout on the fly to suit your needs of the moment. My customized guides change for whatever I am doing. If I am prepping a sermon then I have bible tools available. If I am studying theology or church history I have collections I can search in the guide for whatever I am studying. It's a system I have tweaked since using Logos 4. And I am still tweaking it. I hope this helps.

Posts 1893
Donnie Hale | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Aug 12 2014 6:22 AM

When I first started using L4, I relied heavily on the passage and exegetical guides, with some customizations to remove unused sections. I would save layouts, but practically I just worked in one layout and entered references in those guides.

Now I use layouts much more heavily. I have a layout for the series/book I'm preaching at any given moment. I have layouts for the courses I'm taking and papers that I'm researching / writing.

I would like to revisit creating a highly customized combo passage/exegetical guide and seeing if that serves my needs better for some scenarios. But for the weekly "prep for Sunday" routine, my layout has everything I need already open and supports the process I go through.

Interesting thread. Thanks,

Donnie

Posts 1639