Out with the Old, In with the New (resources, that is)

Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
This post has 10 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 4
Philip Scharer | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Jan 8 2010 6:33 PM

I recently upgraded from Logos 3 to Logos 4.  I like that you can still work with L3, but what about when you want to make the total switch? How do you completely remove Logos 3?  Or, at the least, remove the resources duplicated by Logos 4?

I could manually go in and compare L3 & L4's resources and delete, but that seems like a tedious waste of time. If you want to use L3, then it makes sense to still have all the files.  But if you don't; it doesn't make sense to waste hard drive space on outdated and unused files.  I find it strange that when the .logos4 resources are added there isn't an option to delete the old .lbxlls file.  Are there any tools (from Logos) for this?  I shouldn't have to go 3rd party to fix an upgrade issue.

Lets make our New Years resolution to lose some extra Logos weight!  ...and maybe a few pounds myself =)

-phil

Posts 9552
Forum MVP
Mark Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 6:38 PM

Phil,

My Logos 3 resource folder is totally separate from my Logos 4 folder. Is that not the case with you? In my case all I would have to do is delete my Logos 3 resource folder and I'd be done. All the resources that can be used in 4.0 should have already been added to my 4.0 resource folder. Not all will since some don't work in L4 (the interlinears come to mind), but all that do should be there.

Pastor, North Park Baptist Church

Bridgeport, CT USA

Posts 4
Philip Scharer | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 6:53 PM

Thanks for your reply.  Yes, my L3 resource folder is completely separate.  I was under the impression that some resources hadn't made the jump and were still located in the L3 folder.  I'm hesitant to simply delete the folder. 

Maybe the worst that would happen is that lost resources would be downloaded at my next update.  I still think there should be an tool for this.

-phil

Posts 19577
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 6:58 PM
Mark A. Smith:

My Logos 3 resource folder is totally separate from my Logos 4 folder. Is that not the case with you? In my case all I would have to do is delete my Logos 3 resource folder and I'd be done.

Once you are truly ready to cut the umbilical cord to Logos 3.0, you would also want to uninstall the program, to make sure all its tentacles are removed from your registry, and such.

  • Control Panel > Programs > Uninstall a Program (in Vista)
  • Control Panel > Add or Remove Programs (in XP)

I might wait until after uninstalling to delete the Resources folder, since uninstall might do that for you.

Posts 4
Philip Scharer | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 7:00 PM

Uninstalling Libronix didn't uninstall the resources.

Posts 9552
Forum MVP
Mark Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 7:01 PM

Phil,

Logos 4 does not look anywhere but its own resource folder for resources. If you delete the 3.0 folder Logos 4 will never know or care.

When Logos 4 syncs your licenses and discovers you own something that is not in its own resource folder it downloads it. You almost certainly do not have anything in your 3.0 folder that can be used in 4.0 that isn't already in the 4.0 folder.

No tool is necessary because Logos has taken care of all of this for you. The only 'gotcha' would be if you loaded resources into 3.0 and never synchronized your licenses after that. Otherwise, Logos knows what's in your 3.0 folder (even what you have accidentally deleted), and has put them in your 4.0 folder for you. Couldn't be easier.

Pastor, North Park Baptist Church

Bridgeport, CT USA

Posts 9552
Forum MVP
Mark Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 7:08 PM

PhilipScharer:
I was under the impression that some resources hadn't made the jump

There were a few older resources that Logos had not been able to update when L4 first came out, but these were still supported by Logos 4 and downloaded into the L4 resource folders and functioned fine.

PBB files have not yet made the jump, so you'd want to keep those. If you have some of these they are 'lbxoeb' extension files. (In my case these are in a separate sub-folder of my 3.0 resource folder.)

Pastor, North Park Baptist Church

Bridgeport, CT USA

Posts 4
Philip Scharer | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 7:10 PM

I must have misunderstood some of the other posts in the forum.  Thank you again, Mark.

I may just reinstall libronix and sync up, just to be sure, before I delete. 

-phil

Posts 1669
SteveF | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 8:55 PM

Philip, it is not all "sweetness and roses" Some who are receiving Logos product in Libronix 3 CD's  have found that they MUST have Libronix 3 loaded in order to do the License synching that Mark is referring too.  Often without that Licence synchronization the resource will not be "recognized" by Logos 4 and therefore CANNOT be downloaded.

http://community.logos.com/forums/t/9180.aspx

If you do not have HD space issues, there is no need to delete L3.

Steve F

Regards, SteveF

Posts 9552
Forum MVP
Mark Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 8 2010 9:09 PM

Stephen Filyer:
to do the License synching that Mark is referring too.

Some have worked around this with a call to Customer Service as I recall, but I agree that one can delete the resources to free up space if desired while keeping the program for new resource installation.

Pastor, North Park Baptist Church

Bridgeport, CT USA

Posts 196
Dan Pogue | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jan 9 2010 9:49 AM

Depending on how puter savvy you are... parts of Logos 3 will still be in your system registry...you can go into the registry and find these files to delete them or leave it alone...probably just leave that one alone, these files will have little effect on your hard drive storage...I have found the delete button to be very dangerous for me!

blessings,

danp

Page 1 of 1 (11 items) | RSS