One final question re: Computer Upgrade Advice

Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
This post has 8 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 29
Georgia Schoelz | Forum Activity | Posted: Sun, Jan 25 2015 12:38 PM

If I had to choose between a laptop with either:

512GB SSD and 8GB RAM with integrated graphics

OR

256GB SSD and 12GB RAM with dedicated graphics . . . .

Which set-up would run Logos 6 better with both of them using a Core i7 processor (i7-4500 or i7-4510 respectively)? I guess it comes down to which balance of features is most important for L6 to run well: SSD size, RAM, or graphics? (As mentioned previously, I have about 5000 resources with 3 Mobile Ed courses.)

Thank you everyone! I apologize for these endless questions. But a laptop is a big investment and I'd like to make sure it will run L6 beautifully for a long time to come. You all have been such a great source of information, encouragement, as well as a great blessing to me over the years! I've been using Logos since around 1989, but I'm neither a computer techie, nor a Logos expert. I just love to study God's Word, and I do my best with God's help to assist other women in that endeavor as well.

Thank you!

Georgia

Posts 1104
Lee | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jan 25 2015 12:56 PM

Hi Georgia

The SSD is just the system storage the Ram is were the program runs. and more Ram is also better. As far as the 256GB SSD goes i have windows 7 installed on my 256GB SSD with almost 90GB free space. My system also has about 60GB of podcast sermons, some pictures and MS office, and Logos 6 with 3,000 resources.

I think youshould more than fine with the 256GB SSD & 12GB ram. and the dedicated graphics is always better.

L4 Bible Study, L5 Reformed Bronze, & L5 Gold, L6 Platinum & Reformed Platinum, L7 Platinum, L8 Baptist Platinum.
2015 rMBP 15" 2.2GHz 16GB 256GB SSD, running macOS Mojave   iPad Mini 4,   iPhone 6.

Posts 29365
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jan 25 2015 1:31 PM