A12 - Command Bar Tip

Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
This post has 8 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 2793
J.R. Miller | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Feb 3 2010 11:53 PM

I just wanted to say I really enjoy the Command Bar's power.  Tonight I wanted to open up a specific passage, using a certain translation.  Just typing in "esv james 2" was all it took.  How cool!

My Books in Logos & FREE Training

Posts 1875
Alan Macgregor | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Feb 4 2010 1:52 AM

I tried this, as I have always wanted a quick way of opening a Bible at a passage other than the one I'm studying. For instance, today I am preparing a sermon on Esther 1 and I wanted to open up a separate window with Galatians 3, so I could turn to verse 28 and paste it into my notes.

• I had NIV - Anglicised linked with BHS open at Esther 1.
  • I tried typing  esv Galatians 3 as per your tip.
  • Result: it did not open ESV Galatians 3 in a new window, as I had wanted. Instead it turned to Galatians 3 in my already open NIV - Anglicised, which kind of defeats the purpose. I suppose I'll just have to do it the slow way by opening my Library and selecting a new Bible and opening it at my desired passage. Crying

Any ideas why this doesn't work as I want it too?

I've done a little more exploring here. Even if I close all my Bibles and type "esv Galatians 3", the drop-down only offers me the bible passage and clicking it opens the passage in my default Bible (NIV - Anglicised). However, if I type just "esv" the drop down offers "open ESV" and clicking it opens ESV in its own tab and I can then type a passage in its tab command bar.

Still puzzled. But I'm going to keep exploring because my desideratum - opening an extra Bible copy in another tab at a place unrelated to my already opened linked Bibles - is a thing I'd like to be able to do.

But thanks Joe for the tip!