Update failing

Page 1 of 2 (31 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 30 Replies | 3 Followers

Posts 470
Nord Zootman | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Aug 28 2015 8:06 AM

Hi,

I am running Logos 6 on Windows 10. This morning when I started Logos it indicated that it was downloading 115 MB of updates. After the update it attempted to install for a short while and a pop-up box appeared that said. "The installation of Logos Bible Software did not succeed. I shut down and started Logos using the ctrl key to a blank work-space and the same thing occurred.  I restarted windows and still had the same result when I started Logos. I am hopefuilly attaching files. Thanks for any help you can give.

6562.LogosSetup.zip2768.Logos.zip

Posts 4632
Forum MVP
Fred Chapman | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Aug 28 2015 8:22 AM

I am not an expert, but it seems that the problem is either a security software issue or a permissions issue. According MS that is what MsInstallProduct failure 1603 is. Assuming your user account permissions are not the problem, try disabling any security software you may have running. If that does not work I would contact Tech Support.

Posts 470
Nord Zootman | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Aug 28 2015 8:34 AM

Thanks Fred,

I am simply using Windows Defender. I shut that off and tried again with no success. I will contact customer service.

Posts 64
Warren Dane | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Aug 28 2015 10:44 AM

I am experiencing the same problem. After 3 tries the (2) icon on the menu line of Logos says an application update has been installed and to restart Logos 6. When I do so I get the same "installation failed" message as cited above. When I check the version of Logos 6 it remains version 6.5 NOT 6.5 SR-1. I turned off the Norton Smart Firewall to see if that was the problem. It made no difference. "Installation failed" continues to reappear every time I seek to do the installation by restarting Logos 6.  I'm using Windows 10 on my laptop.