Insufficient Privileges (Re)Installing Logos 6

Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
This post has 10 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 18
Raif | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Nov 30 2015 10:49 AM

I had Logos installed, but every time I tried to install the latest update, I received an error message, even when I had started Logos as administrator. The message says, "The selected user does not have sufficient privileges to complete the setup. Please choose Administrator from the Run As.. dialog."

In an attempt to solve this problem, I uninstalled Logos, then restarted my computer (Surface Pro 3, Windows 8.1). I downloaded the installer file for Logos and tried again, but I still get the same message. It does not matter whether I start the installer regularly (and I am an administrator) or “as administrator.”

Before posting this message, I noticed that I had received this response from Logos Tech Support:

Thank you for the email. It sounds like there are restrictions setup on the user account (even if this has been done recently) or something has gone wrong with the privileges on your user account on this computer. If you’re still getting that dialog when running as administrator you’ll want to talk to the IT staff if this is a company/church computer, or talk to a Windows technician if it is your personal machine, as they are better suited to resolve problems with the operating system. 

I have included my response to that message below:

If that is the case, why am I able to run other installers from the same location on my computer as the Logos installer? I tried several other installation packages and all ran without any problems. Since the issue is restricted to Logos, would you still say it is a Windows problem?

It would be helpful if anyone could shed some light on this situation.

Raif Turner

Posts 21869
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Nov 30 2015 10:58 AM

Hi Raif

Raif: