Possible network connection bug

Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
This post has 1 Reply | 0 Followers

Posts 2830
Don Awalt | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Aug 11 2016 7:28 AM

This is a possible bug because maybe a connection to the network is being held in a manner different than other software...

At work, the tech guys did a reconfigure of the WiFi network. The network SSID went from, for example SSID-A to SSID-B. So when I cam in, I remembered getting the email saying I had to reconnect to the new network when I saw my laptop was offline - I had Google, Gmail, Evernote, Dropbox, Verbum, and 1 or 2 other apps that are network connected, and all reported in some way that the network was down.

So I reconnected to the new WiFi network, and pretty much all the apps came back on line automatically - Gmail, Dropbox, Evernote, etc., but not Verbum. I noticed I still had the red exclamation mark in the top right corner, I clicked on it to see if it came back online, and it did not. I tried a few more times, and even waited - almost an hour - still not online. I finally thought that somehow it must be locked into the old connection, so on a hunch I closed Verbum, and restarted it, and it came back up. Whether this issue maifests itself in other network problems someone may have, it doesn't seem quite as smart as other apps because in reality a network connection was present and Verbum/Logos wasn't looking for it.

Maybe this could be looked at? It might fix some other strange network/connection iussues people report from time to time, and this use case might be easy to reproduce/test/fix.

Posts 2908
LogosEmployee
Andrew Batishko | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Aug 11 2016 8:43 AM

The icon you are indicating indicates that a fatal error happened while trying to sync data up to the Logos servers. Likely it was trying to sync data when the network went down. When this type of error happens, we don't attempt to retry syncing that one type of data until you restart the application (other types of data will still sync normally). This is to prevent doing extra work which (in most situations) is likely to fail. All other network-related operations likely were working normally, and I suspect if you'd tried any of the other online-only features, they would have worked as expected.

Andrew Batishko | Faithlife software developer

Page 1 of 1 (2 items) | RSS