PC vs Android comparison

Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
This post has 11 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 1
Eric Stishan | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, May 8 2017 7:30 AM

I'm brand new to the Logos world and I was wondering if there's anything I would be missing by using the Android version of Logos instead of the Windows version. The reason I ask is I have a Chromebook, which supports Android that I typically use for seminary and church-related functions, whereas the PC is much larger and heavier and was bought primarily for video production.

I have access to both, obviously, but I'm wondering if I could just install the Android application on the Chromebook and end up with the same experience, more or less, than if I were to install the Windows version. Thanks!

Posts 3771
Francis | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, May 8 2017 8:02 AM

The Android version is a glorified reader with considerably less functionality than the PC version. And it has restrictions. For instance, you cannot lookup lemmas or guides offline in the Android version. Not all resources are readable from the Android version either. The list of differences is actually quite long. The PC version is the full deal. The Android version is a "mobile" step-down, more useful as a mobile companion than as a substitute. 

Posts 30876
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, May 8 2017 10:22 AM

First, welcome to the forums Eric!

Francis did a good job answering. The mobile apps aren't intended to be a replacement for the desktop app. The mobile apps do a great job of basic tasks like reading & highlighting. I would much rather use my iPad for those functions than my MacBook. Deeper study or content creation (i.e. writing sermons) require (or at least cry out for) the desktop version. 

macOS, iOS & iPadOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 5321
Dan Francis | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, May 8 2017 10:35 AM