How to search phrases in BHS with morphological sensitivity?

Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
This post has 11 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 7
Ryan Gregg | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Nov 27 2017 8:35 AM

Hi, 

I'm a doctoral student in Hebrew Bible, and am wondering if there is a way to use the search function in Logos 7 that would allow me to search for Hebrew phrases, and WITH morphological sensitivity. 

For example: I might be looking for verses in the Hebrew Bible that have both of these words: מחזיקים and במצוה. As I'm using the search function now, it will ONLY show results that include the EXACT words מחזיקים and במצוה. But this is impractical, given how Hebrew morphology and syntax works. I inevitably have to enter umpteen different variants of the same words, and it takes a ton of time. What I want the search to do, when I enter מחזיקים במצוה is  show me verses where, for example, the words החזיקו and מצות occur, or מחזיקות and מצותיך. That is, I want to the search to be sensitive to EVERY instance of verses where a חזק root and a מצוה root are present. Is this possible to do? If so, it would be EXTREMELY helpful to my work.

Many thanks!

Posts 81
Kevin Wang | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Nov 27 2017 8:45 AM

I would do a "morph" search (one of the search functions):

Lemma:(root) NEAR Lemma:(root) 

Hope this helps

Posts 7
Ryan Gregg | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Nov 27 2017 9:24 AM

YOU ARE THE MAN!!! Thanks Kevin!

Posts 7
Ryan Gregg | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Nov 27 2017 9:28 AM

Another question, if I may:

How does it work with nouns? For example, would I still use "lemma:" if I was searching for a combination of the noun אישׁ and the verb הלך, or a combination of two nouns?  

Posts 378
Clint Cozier | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Nov 27 2017 9:37 AM