Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 23
Kelly Wayne Sullivan | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Jan 17 2019 7:18 AM

I have a question regarding Clippings...

I am currently going through the NT361 Hebrews study that I accessed through my Faithlife Connect subscription.  Instead of making a 'Notes' file, I am making a 'Clippings' document.  At the end of my 6 month access to this course, will I still be able to see those Clippings or will I lose access to them? (Like what happens with a "Note" if I only have temporary access to a book and make a note in it)

Posts 24655
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 17 2019 7:30 AM

There was a discussion of this previously where Andrew stated that clippings should still be available after a resource was removed but that a bug was stopping this working - https://community.logos.com/forums/p/125848/819818.aspx#819818 

I've just tested it by removing a resource with a temporary licence and the clipping I made is still visible.

So it looks as though the bug has been fixed and you should be fine.

Posts 11723
Forum MVP
NB.Mick | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 17 2019 7:35 AM

Kelly Wayne Sullivan:
Like what happens with a "Note" if I only have temporary access to a book and make a note in it

I think the question of the Clippings is a complex one (due to copyright of the resource you no longer have a license to) and has been answered by an employee earlier. EDIT: I see Graham dug up that thread and linked us to it /EDIT

However, unless the answer is that you retain the Clippings to the fullest extent, it is not "like" but "unlike" notes. The text you put into a note is yours and you always retain the note. This is regardless of the old or new notes system: the note is yours to keep. It may be difficult to relate it to the text of the no-longer-in-the-library resource, but the content is still there. Tags or anchors (formerly: attachment points) may help to find them in this case, but still they are in your notebooks (or in the large single database, but still associated to the notebooks you used to store the note in).  

I know I do have notes I made regarding books I no longer have. In some cases I had a book temporarily, lost the license and then bought the book later: voila, all note markers are back. But the notes themselves have been in my Logos all the time. 

Running Logos 9 latest (beta) version on Win 10

Posts 23
Kelly Wayne Sullivan | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 17 2019 8:19 AM

Graham

Great!  I'll check out the info at this link.  

Page 1 of 1 (4 items) | RSS