Too easy to accidentally delete Note Files, Notes, Close All Tabs in L4

Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
This post has 9 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 43
Douglas | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Jun 4 2010 12:11 PM

I think that it is way too easy to accidentally delete Note Files (right clicking a Note File from the File Menu), individual Notes in Note Files (left-clicking the red circle containing an X), and Close All Tabs (right clicking a resource tab) in L4.  This is especially a concern with Note Files and (to a lesser extent) Notes, both of which may contain lots of valuable information not easy to reconstruct.

PROPOSED SOLUTION:  When these "destroy-all" options are selected, there should be a Yes/No Popup Dialog that appears to users asking them "Are you sure you want to delete/close the Note File / Note / all tabs?" (appropriately worded for each situation).  As a software developer, I almost always have added this "Are you sure...?" popup functionality to check with users in these kinds of situations.

Posts 232
AndyTheGreek | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jun 4 2010 12:31 PM

My colleagues and I have often quipped about popping up a "Were you sure?" message after doing something that cannot be undone.Smile

Seeing that deleting Notes cannot be undone, your suggestion makes perfect sense. I would get the popup to point out that the delete operation cannot be undone.

Posts 653
Alex Scott | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jun 4 2010 12:45 PM

I agree.  I've done that several times accidentally.  It's carelessness of course but that comes with familiarity in the computing world.

Longtime Logos user (more than $30,000 in purchases) - now a second class user because I won't pay them more every month or year.

Posts 43
Douglas | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jun 4 2010 12:46 PM