Church Capstone Project - Logos User Group

Page 1 of 2 (39 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 38 Replies | 3 Followers

Posts 11
Nancy | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Jun 15 2010 8:50 AM

I've searched the forums, but wasn't sure where to find this topic.  Sorry if I'm duplicating a conversation.

I am not a seminary student, but I have been taking  a series of classes at my church for the last 6 years. I have started to use Logos 4 to help me with my homework.   Recently they changed the adult education program and  added a capstone project as a final requirement for "graduation."   Many of the ideas for the capstone include teaching a youth class (already done that), community service projects (done lots of those), mission trips (done some) or presenting an idea for a capstone.

So I presented the idea of starting and facilitating a Logos User Group or Mini-Church using Logos 4 as a tool for a Bible Study starting in 2011.   I am still a new user to Logos, but I have a Graduate Degree in Online Learning.  This would be a challenging  and exciting capstone project for me.  My church has about 3500+ people who attend, so I thought that there must be at least a couple of people who might be interested in using technology to study God's Word.

After briefly sharing my idea during a phone conversation, the response was respectful and cautious, but certainly not enthusiastic.  I was going to type up a detailed proposal, but have stopped to ponder for awhile and try to understand the churches position.  The church utilizes technology very well for worship and communication, but PowerPoint and talking head videos are the only technologies I have experienced with the adult education program.

I'm ready to sign up for the Parking Lot Greeting crew (never done that)  for my capstone project... and continue to do Logos on my own.   Any insights would be appreciated.

Posts 9947
George Somsel | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jun 15 2010 9:05 AM