Updating library catalog - persistent annoyance

Page 1 of 2 (38 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 37 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 1667
Forum MVP
Veli Voipio | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Dec 4 2020 12:48 AM

I am not sure what is the official term for this problem although I assume everyone knows it.

I think now it is good time to discuss about this when the L9 smoke is settling and the Covid alleviated Christmas frenzy has not started yet.

I mean the orange/yellow line in the picture saying "Updating library catalog, list may be incomplete". It appears and disappears unexpectedly and often right before I press the mouse button and then something annoying might happen. Someone else might be able to describe it better (more accurately, more vividly, more emphatically etc...). 

I've been using Logos for many years and I think this problem has been there all the time. I can even recall some discussion about it but I am not sure which words to use in the search string so I thought it is best to start a fresh thread. 

I guess the origin is that some summer trainee designed it while in the original Logos garage, and it is hard coded and nobody braves to touch that code. But I assume no user is happy with this "feature" so it is time to fix it. 

Gold package, and original language material and ancient text material, SIL and UBS books, discourse Hebrew OT and Greek NT. PC with Windows 8.1

Posts 472
Stephen McCracken | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Dec 4 2020 1:10 AM

Veli, I actually don't mind it as it it means my reading on my iPad is updating with my desktop, etc. Most of the time I never see it as its only when you open Library and my desktop always opens with where I closed the programme and that's where I start working. But everyone has their preferences.

Posts 19263
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Dec 4 2020 1:45 AM