Ability to turn off automatic updates & sync

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 6
Jon Hole | Forum Activity | Posted: Sun, Mar 28 2021 12:10 PM

Hi all,

We've been using Proclaim for a few years now - and LOVE it.

There's two features that bug me and I'm interested to hear what others think about them. One is already listed on the feedback pages, the other isn't.

1) Turn off automatic updates. My opinion is that no production system should automatically update itself. We run Proclaim on production machines that are locked down - which means operators regularly get popups mid-service asking them to log in as an administrator. I think there should be an option to turn off automatic updates. (https://feedback.faithlife.com/boards/faithlife-proclaim/posts/control-over-update-installation).

2) Turn off sync (or "lock" a service presentation). I don't like that, once On Air, a service can get updated remotely without the operator knowing. I'd like someone to check and "sign off" the presentation on the Saturday before the service. Therefore, a way of turning off sync (just the active file on the client, not the sync to the cloud), or a way of "locking" a particular file (not with a password, but just that stops any accidental changes / shows everyone this is now finished and checked) would be really helpful.

Potentially both these things just highlight that essentially I'm a control freak who doesn't like things happening automatically without me knowing (!) but they're both based on feedback from my team.

Posts 5480
Forum MVP
Mike Binks | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 30 2021 10:39 AM

Jon Hole:
I think there should be an option to turn off automatic updates.

As far as I am aware Jon, Faithlife avoid all but 'essential' updates close to the weekend.

I have never had the experience of an update coming through mid-service

If you have a computer that is idle mid-week and only fired up on a Sunday then it would be a good idea to get your tech folk to check for updates before the first service.

tootle pip

Mike

How to get logs and post them. (now tagging post-apocalyptic fiction as current affairs)

Posts 5584
SineNomine | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 30 2021 10:44 AM

Jon Hole:
I think there should be an option to turn off automatic updates.

Given that this option exists in Logos/Verbum, I am surprised that Proclaim does not have it.

Posts 6
Jon Hole | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Mar 31 2021 6:28 AM

Thanks for the reply Mike. In my view, a software update within a production environment needs to be managed - it should be tested in the environment it’s going to be used and potentially training needs to be provided to operators before the transition. We also have a Primary / Backup setup, so wouldn’t want to update these simultaneously.

The popup during the service is because the machines are locked down, so the software doesn’t have permission to install itself and so requests the admin passwords, which our operators don’t know.

Page 1 of 1 (4 items) | RSS