Replacing laptop with a Surface

Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
This post has 4 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 33
James Amos | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Dec 11 2021 6:54 AM

My laptop has a broken screen and the cost is going to be almost as much as buying a new laptop. I'm a student pastor and I have both a laptop and a tablet ATM. I was thinking about replacing them with a Microsoft surface so that I could just use one device. My current laptop has i5-7200c processor, 12gb ram, and 128 SSD. I'm not looking for a super device just something at least comparable.

I have a few questions about this:

1. Can I attach multiple monitors to the surface?

2. What model would similar to what I currently have?

3. Any pros or cons to just using a surface?

Posts 111
Morgan | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Dec 11 2021 8:13 AM

So this is my experience with the Surface 3. It's an older model, and not the pro version so you might need to take some of this with a grain of salt if comparing to newer models.

1. I was unable to do multiple monitors with the surface 3. This article tells me you'll need a Surface Dock.
  2. Not familiar enough on the current models to give a solid answer.
  3. The surface, while a tablet, functions as a desktop. You will have to download the Logos desktop app which isn't too friendly for tablets and touchscreen. It won't replace whatever tablet you're using right now.

I was OK with my Surface 3 for the 5 years it lasted. The cover keyboard is peeling in multiple places and it stopped holding a good charge around year 4. I also had difficulties with the keyboard connecting and would have to restart often.

I recently got myself an HP Envy 13 which has done well, despite some spotty trackpad issues. I also got a Samsung tablet for general reading and the mobile app.

Posts 718
Kathleen Marie | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Dec 11 2021 9:00 AM

You want multiple screens, but you want one inexpensive device that is powerful enough to run multiple screens.