Searching takes me back to Logos 3

Page 1 of 2 (28 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 27 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 675
Jim | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Sep 28 2010 10:26 AM

I've been using Logos 4 for 10 months. I use it regularly. I show others how to use it. But I miss Logos 3.

I just started a study on Philippians and wanted to research articles on the letter. First of all I still can't find any equivalent in L4 to the Topic Browser in L3 that identifies resource topics rather than every where the word is used. Though the Topic Browser was of limited use, it is nice to use once in a while especially when faced with what L4 presents.

More importantly, if I do a search in my whole library for "Philippians", L3 gives me a really nicely arranged compact listing of resources that I can visually scan very quickly and can quickly expand any one to see the articles or places the word was used. That is so convenient.

In L4, someone thinks that beautiful book icons are worth the screen space. I find them an annoyance. Furthermore when I click on one, the window blanks and takes many seconds to open up to an expanded view (whereas in L3 it is almost instantaneous) that still doesn't use screen space very well. I find it so cumbersome, I just open L3 and search there.

So it doesn't impress me that it came up with 8000 hits in 12 seconds instead of taking 30 seconds to come up with a list that I can use much more efficiently.