Please Recommend some books!!

Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
This post has 10 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 53
Paul Bradley | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Jan 19 2011 7:19 AM

Hi Guys,

I sometimes find looking trawling through the list of Logo's books a bit overwhelming due to alot of books being too advanced, however i was wondering would someone please recommend a few books for a first year Religious Studies student?   As i am only a student i would rather spend my money on books that would be useful to me now than in say 5 years. Im interested in peoples opinions. Please help!!Tongue Tied

Paul

Ballygrainey Presbyterian Church, Northern Ireland - Loving, Serving and Sharing Christ.

Posts 1680
Jerry M | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jan 19 2011 7:23 AM

What base Logos package do you have?  Are you taking any language courses?

"For the kingdom of God does not consist in words but in power"      Wiki Table of Contents

Posts 53
Paul Bradley | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jan 19 2011 7:51 AM

Hi Jerry,

I have Logos 4 Scholars Silver and no language classes as of yet. Im just curious to see which books others think would be useful as a first year student.

Core Studies this year are:

Hebrew Scriptures, Greek Scriptures, Theology of the Hebrew Scriptures, The Church of The First 5 Decades, Exegesis of the Hebrew Scriptures, Comparative Religions, The Prison Epistles, The Book of Revelation, Ministry and Worship.

Paul.

Ballygrainey Presbyterian Church, Northern Ireland - Loving, Serving and Sharing Christ.

Posts 2829
Michael Childs | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jan 19 2011 8:05 AM

1.  The best base package you can afford.

2.  For the money - The IVP Essential Reference Library - try to buy it for no more than $120. 

3.  Great value - The Tyndale Commentary set.

4.  When you can afford it - New International Commentaries on the OT/NT. 

God bless you as you prepare for a lifetime of service to our Lord.