Terms of Use - Impact on Potential Web Apps

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 1
Arden Harrell | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Oct 31 2012 5:35 AM

I am a software developer and I have several web applications that I'd like to write. 

First, I'd like to thank you guys for all your work on the Biblia API and your efforts in the Bible software market.  If you guys didn't stand up and cut code we wouldn't have the products we have today.

Unfortunately, it seems like I won't be able to advance forward due to licensing restrictions.  The Biblia API's Terms of Use reads as follows from  http://api.biblia.com/docs/Terms_of_Use under the Licensed Uses and Restrictions heading:

use these APIs to extract the content of databases made available through them for storage in an alternate database system.

Unfortunately, based on this one item, it restricts developers to use the Biblia API for merely read-only purposes.  While this does have significant value that has never been available before, it seems a little strange.  Most software applications that actually do something eventually save the data the user is working with.

For example, if I wanted to create a sermon application.  I could totally do this if I used refTagger. Very cool! The user creates a sermon, users read the sermon and access full text of the scriptures as long as they have an internet connect.  This is cool.  It's a worthy application.

Another cool feature for a sermon application would be to provide the ability to generate a PDF so users could print the sermon.  However, if I decide to store that same PDF with scripture (both reference/text) on my hosted site it would be a breach of the license.

Obviously, I have other scripture web application ideas, but I chose the sermon application because it's an easy example.  I've wondered why there aren't more Bible web applications today.  Could this be the reason?

Please help me understand how to proceed or if I can at all.